Facebook doesn't permit you to rename a group so, if your mission for a group is no longer viable, groups can't be renamed.
For example, if you have a Facebook group called "Celebrating2007", that group can't be renamed Celebrating2008, Celebrating2009, Celebrating2010, etc.
Thus, if you are no longer celebrating 2007, the group dedicated to that purpose gets "frozen in time". [wink, wink]
So, how does a Facebook group creator delete the group called "Celebrating2007"?
I don't see an option.
Further to that, I don't see an option to send a message to the entire group, other than posting to the forum. (I do remember messaging an entire group via email but, that function seems to have been removed...)
www.VincentWright.com (My Linkedin Profile)
www.MyLinkingPowerForum.com (Linking Power groups)
www.MyLinkedinPowerForum.com (8,600 members)
http://www.linkedin.com/e/gis/1304/10BE4F71AFD0 (7,000 members)